All Resources

Employers Covered by the ADA



According to the EEOC, many types of employers have an obligation not to discriminate against people with disabilities. Employers who have 15 or more employees must comply with the regulations laid out in Title I.  Covered employers include:

  • Private employers
  • State and local governments
  • Employment agencies
  • Labor organizations
  • Labor management committees.

The EEOC includes “agents” of an employer in the definition of employer.  Agents of the employer act on behalf of the employer.  They include managers, supervisors, foremen, or others who act for the employer.  This might include outside organizations who support hiring or manage employer benefit programs.  The employer is responsible for the actions of their agents who violate the law. 


Would you like more information about the services we provide? Ask our technical assistance specialists.

Contact Us

Northeast ADA Center: 1-607-255-6686

ADA National Network: 1-800-949-4232

Email Us: